WOW Expansions – World of Warcraft Expansions in Order of Release

New to World of Warcraft and would like to learn all that is entailed in the game? World of Warcraft is a top massively multiplayer online role-playing game. Released in 2004, World of Warcraft popularly called WoW is a continuation of the all-time Warcraft games. And since its release, World of Warcraft has launched eight major WoW expansions.

WOW Expansions - World of Warcraft Expansions in Order of Release

World of Warcraft focuses on  The Horde and the Alliance, however, the MMORPG game is far beyond that, the game comprises fantasy and complex content, it also includes various characters, races, classes,  factions and locations.

Also, WoW MMORPG has so expanded its horizons, that the story cannot be completed in one instalment, and hence, they have been eight WoW expansions. WoW expansions consist of more advanced features like races, classes, characters, factions and gameplay options.

Wow Expansions in Order of Release

Below is a list of  World of Warcraft expansions in order of their release date.

The Burning Crusade  (first Expansion)

This was the first ever WoW expansion to be launched, it was released on January 16, 2007, in North America, Australia and Europe, while on the 2nd of February it was released in Korea, 3rd of  April 2007 it was released in Taiwan and Honk Kong.

The Burning Legion focus on an army of ravenous demons who invaded numerous worlds while being led by some of the powerful beings in the World of  Warcraft universe. It also shows the legion’s newest invasion attempt on Azeroth which occurred because the Doom Lord Kazzak opened Outland again.

Burning Legions shows how the Horde and the Alliance fought the Legion and also deal with the enemy source. The main features of the game include the Draenei and blood elves as races and World of Outland, zones, items, dungeons and monsters.

On June 29, 2011, the expansion was integrated into the World of Warcraft package, giving subscribers full access at no additional cost. The expansion focuses on Outland and the world of Draenor. However, the burning race shows two new playable races and mounts like Blood elf, Draenei, a hawk strider and an elekk.

Wrath of the Lich King (Second Expansion)

Released in 2008, Wrath of the Lich King is known to be a notable WoW expansion. Arthas Menethil became the Lich King and during is a strike; he caused the true deaths of Sylvannas Windrunner and Dranosh Saurffang. Wrath of the Lich King focuses on one quest which is to defeat the Lich King Arthas  Mnethil.

Also, this second expansion shows quality improvements in the game such as the dual-spec options and an improved LFG feature.

Cataclysm (Third Expansion)

Cytaclysm was released in 2010; it brought in new changes, characters, races and areas. The new races that were introduced in Cataclysm include Goblins and Worgen. The main character Deathwing the Destroyer caused a massive cataclysm that reformed Azeroth. The volcanic eruption from the Cataclysm destructively altered the areas along with fierce fires and earthquakes.

Players also needed to assist Vol’jin stip the Zandalari trolls from attacking the factions. Cataclysm expansion quest focuses on fighting and stopping the Deathwing and Firelord Ragnaros in Wow.

Mists of Pandaria (Fourth expansion)

Mist of Pandaria launched gamers to a new but mysterious island; it introduced a new race called The Pandaren race. The pandaren race consists of Alliance and Horde again. They engaged in a  fierce battle which left both their forces to wash up on the mysterious island. It was released in 2012 as the fourth WoW expansion.

Here we see new characters like Mogu, Zandalari, Lei Shen, Warcheif Garrish Hellscream and more. if you would  enjoy playing a fierce battle game then the Mists of Pandaria is recommended for you

Warlords of Draenor (Fifth expansion)

Released in 2014, Warlord of Draenor is the all-time fifth expansion of the World of Warcraft games. This expansion is thrilling as it brought back old faces, races and classes like the Draenei, Horde and Alliance and so on. No new race was introduced in this expansion but a new area was launched called the Draenor. Here, World of Warcraft introduced more detailed animations and textures.

Legion (Sixth expansion)

Released in 2016, the legion expansion is the third expansion and is known to be one of the most technical aspects of WoW. Although no new race was introduced the Demon Hunter class was introduced with new areas like Argus and the Broken Isles. In this expansion, the next demon invasion occurred when Gul’Dan stole Illidan’s body and opened a portal at the Tomb of Sargeras. Players have the quest to defeat Gul’dan and bring Illidan back to life.

Battle for Azeroth ( Seventh Expansion)

Released in 2018, the battle for Azeroth is a fascinating and thrilling game by WoW. The First expansion ever to introduce multiple races and areas, the battle for Azeroth has a total of 10  new races and three new areas.

The new races introduced in this expansion are Void Elves, Highmountain Tauren, Lightforged Draenei, Kul Tiran, Mechagnome, Nightborne, zandalari Troll, Vulpera, Mag’har, and Dark Iron Dwarves. The expansion introduced players to the troll kingdom of Zandalar and the human kingdom of Kul’Tiras.


Released in November 2020, the Shadowlands which is the latest World of Warcraft expansion features two content patches, the chains of Domination and Eternity’s End. No new race was introduced in this expansion.

However, shadowlands introduced players to the realms of Bastion, Maldraxxus, Ardenweald, and Revendreth.  Here fans start to see the spirits of characters that died a long time ago and players have rescued all heroes except King Anduin.


Here is a list of frequently asked questions on WoW expansions.

Is WoW releasing a new Expansions 2022?

There have been rumours that WoW is going to release a new expansion called the Dragonflight in 2022. With a new race and class are known as the Dracthyr and Dragon Isles the new expansion is scheduled for December.

Gamers are expectant because there would be a new race, new class and a revamp of professions. The User Interface is also getting a whole new view. This is going to be the ninth expansion.

What is the Next WoW expansion?

Based on our research, WoW will be launching a new expansion in 2022 called the DragonFlight. Although there has not been any official release date, but there is a high possibility of a launch in 2022.

What is WoW Expansion Price?

WoW expansion price varies because expansions are not the same. The best of WoWs Expansions cost $39.99.

WoW Expansion Ranks?

Mist o Pandaria is ranked as the number one most thrilling World of Warcraft all-time game. It became a hit after its launch date in 2012.

READ ALSO: Apple Montessori Schools and Camps – About the Summer Camp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *